News > Evangelical preaching > 12 great holidays

Twelve Great Feasts are the twelve most important holidays established in the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ, and in honor of the Blessed Virgin. Depending on the issue to whom the holiday is dedicated Twelve great holidays are called the Manor (or The Lord God holiday) or Marian. Twelve great feasts are divided on “passing date” of the celebration holidays ( depends on the date of Easter), and nonpassing date holidays, which always are celebrated in the same day of the year.

Church liturgical year begins in September. Annual cycle of twelve great feasts, from the Nativity of the Virgin Mary and ending with her Assumption, reflects all the stages of life of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the earthly ministry of our Lord Jesus Christ for our salvation. Feast of the Exaltation of the Precious and Life-Giving Cross stresses the relationship of Jesus Christ as the head of the Church founded by Him (see Col.1: 18).

Easter, as the "feast of feasts", not one of the twelve great feasts.


 

Add comment


What format of religious education for children is needed according to your oppinion?

Loading...

Today

Sunday May 27, 2018 / May 14, 2018

Pentecost Trinity Sunday.

"Lesna" Icon of the Most Holy Theotokos (1696) (movable holiday on the Trinity Sunday). Holy Fathers and Mothers of Atchara (18th c.) (movable holiday on the Trinity Sunday) (Georgia). Martyr Isidore of Chios (251). St. Isidore, fool-for-Christ, wonderworker of Rostov (1474). New Hieromartyr Peter priest (1939). Venerable Nicetas, bishop of Novgorod and recluse of the Kiev Caves (1108). Martyr Maximus, under Decius (250). Venerable Serapion the Sindonite, monk, of Egypt (542). St. Leontius, patriarch of Jerusalem (1175). Trebensk (1654) and Yaroslavl (Pechersk) Icons of the Mother of God (1823). New Martyr John-Raiko of Shumena, Bulgaria (1802)) (Greek). New Martyr Mark of Crete, at Smyrna (1643) (Greek). First opening of the relics (1846) of St. Tikhon of Zadonsk (1783). St. Aprunculus, bishop of Clermont in Gaul (Gaul). Sts. Alexander, Barbarus, and Acolythus, martyred at the Church of Holy Peace by the Sea in Constantinople (Greek). St. Andrew, abbot of Raphael (Tobolsk) (1820).
Монастыри и храмы УПЦ Десятинный монастырь

Новости > Евангельская проповедь > Двунадесятые праздники

Двунадесятыми праздниками называются двенадцать важнейших праздников установленных во славу Господа нашего Иисуса Христа и в честь Пресвятой Богородицы. В зависимости от того кому посвящен праздник, двунадесятые праздники называются Господскими (Господними) или Богородичными. Двунадесятые праздники делятся еще на переходящие, дата празднования которых зависит от даты празднования Пасхи, и на непереходящие, которые празднуются всегда в один и тот же день года. Название «двунадесятые» происходит от славянского количественного числительного «двунадесять» (или «дванадесять»), то есть «двенадцать».

Церковный богослужебный год начинается с сентября. Годичный цикл двунадесятых праздников, начиная с Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы и заканчивая Ее Успением, отражает все этапы жизни Пресвятой Богородицы и земного служения Господа нашего Иисуса Христа в деле нашего спасения. Праздник Воздвижения Честнаго и Животворящего Креста подчеркивает связь Иисуса Христа как главы с основанной Им Церковью (см. Кол.1:18).

Пасха, как «праздников праздник», не входит в число двунадесятых праздников.


 

Добавить комментарий


Какая форма религиозного образования для детей, на Ваш взгляд, необходима?

Loading...

Сегодня

Воскресенье 27 мая 2018 / 14 мая 2018

День Святой Троицы. Пятидесятница.

Леснинской иконы Божией Матери (переходящие празднования в День Святой Троицы). Святых мучеников, убиенных турками в Аджарии. (XVIII) (переходящие празднования в День Святой Троицы) (Груз.). Мч. Исидора (251). Блж. Исидора, Христа ради юродивого, Ростовского чудотворца (1474). Сщмч. Петра пресвитера (1939). Прп. Никиты, затворника Печерского, еп. Новгородского (1109). Мч. Максима (ок. 250). Прп. Серапиона Синдонита (V). Свт. Леонтия, патриарха Иерусалимского (1175). Теребенской (1654) и Ярославской (Печерской) иконы Божией Матери (1823). Новомч. Иоанна Болгарского (1802) (Греч.). Новомч. Марка Критского, в Смирне (1643) (Греч.). 1-е открытие мощей свт. Тихона, еп. Задонского (1846). Свт. Апрункула, еп. Клермонского, в Галлии (Галл.). Cвв. мчч. Александра, Варвара и Аколифа (Греч.). Св. Андрея, настоятеля Рафаельского (Тобольского) (1820).
Монастыри и храмы УПЦ Десятинный монастырь